Retief Goosen one of five new inductees to the World Golf Hall of Fame

[Wednesday, October 10, 2018 17:11:54]

Retief Goosen will be enshrined with Billy Payne, Jan Stephenson, Dennis Walters and the late Peggy Kirk Bell as the Class of 2019, and he joins Gary Player, Bobby Locke and Ernie Els amongst the distinguished ranks of golfers thus honoured.

These five new members will be enshrined at the World Golf Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Monday, June 10, 2019 in Pebble Beach during the week of the men’s US Open Championship.

Goosen, who won 10 times on the Sunshine Tour – including the South African Open Championship in 1993 and 1995 – was honoured for a career which has been exemplary all over the world. According to the World Golf Hall of Fame release, “Goosen sat within the Official World Golf Ranking’s top 10 for more than 250 weeks from 2001 through 2007. His 33 worldwide wins include two US Open Championships in 2001 – the same year he was named European Tour Player of the Year – and 2004. Goosen led the European Tour Order of Merit in 2001 and 2002. He also played in six consecutive Presidents Cups from 2000 to 2011 as part of the International Team.”

Billy Payne, during his 11 years as chairman of Augusta National Golf Club from 2006 to 2017, oversaw a number of significant achievements including the introduction of female members into the club’s membership.

In Jan Stephenson’s first season on the LPGA Tour in 1974, she was named LPGA’s Rookie of the Year. She went on to lead an impressive career with 20 professional victories, including 16 on the LPGA Tour. She is a three-time major champion with wins at the 1981 du Maurier, 1982 LPGA Championship and the 1983 US Women’s Open.

Dennis Walters is an elite golfer who was paralyzed from the waist-down at the age of 24 following a golf cart accident. He has since dedicated his career to sharing life lessons and inspiring fans and disabled golfers of all ages through golf clinics and special performances at more than 3,000 worldwide appearances.

Margaret Anne ‘Peggy’ Kirk Bell took up the game as a teenager, making a name for herself as an amateur star. She went on to become a charter member of the Ladies Professional Golf Association in 1950 after winning the 1949 Titleholders Championship and participating on the winning 1950 Curtis Cup team.

Goosen’s last win on the Sunshine Tour came in the Africa Open of 2009. He turns 50 on February 3 nest year, and he will be a feared competitor in the senior ranks.

Credit: The Sunshine Tour